Skip to main content

Prof. Sauls Elected Secretary-Treasurer of the CMP Division of the APS, among other appointments and honors

February 4, 2019

Professor James Sauls has received several recent professional appointments and awards.

He was elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Division of Condensed Matter Physics (DCMP) of the American Physical Society (APS) to serve for four years effective March 9 2019. The DCMP is the largest division of the American Physical Society, representing research areas ranging from solid-state physics, superconductors, magnetic materials, liquid crystals, quantum liquids and solids, soft condensed matter. The Secretary-Treasurer is responsible for communications between the DCMP and the Executive of the American Physical Society, oversees the finances of the DCMP and is responsible for elections to the Executive Committee of the DCMP. 

Additionally, Prof. Sauls was appointed to the International Science Advisory Committee of the European MicroKelvin Platform (EMP) [Link:[]. The European Union recently announced funding (10 M Euro) for the EMP, a consortium of leading laboratories in the UK and Europe in low-temperature physics and technology, which will provide cutting edge low temperature technology, facilities and scientific expertise for fundamental research on quantum materials and next-generation electronic devices for quantum simulation and quantum computing.  Christian Enss is the lead on the EMP. He heads the LT laboratory at the Kirchoff Institute at Heidelberg University on basic research programs in quantum solids and nuclear magnetism,  and he has a long-time program in the development of cryogenic detectors.

Finally, he was appointed Chief Specialty Editor for Frontiers in Physics overseeing the Journal Frontiers in Condensed Matter Physics [Link] . Frontiers is an Open Access Publisher owned by Springer.

Back to top