Skip to main content

Graduate

Graduate Study

The Department of Physics and Astronomy offers three advanced degrees:

Chair of Physics Ph.D. Admissions
Professor Venkat Chandrasekhar
Phone number: 847-491-3444
Office: Technological Institute F125
Email: v-chandrasekhar@northwestern.edu

Chair of Astronomy Ph.D. Admissions
Professor Giles Novak
Phone number: 847-491-8645
Office: Technological Institute F253
Email: g-novak@northwestern.edu

Director of Physics Ph.D. Studies
Professor Brian Odom
Phone number: 847-467-5452
Office: Technological Institute F411
Email: b-odom@northwestern.edu

Director of Astronomy Ph.D. Studies
Professor Fred Rasio
Phone number: 847-491-7904
Office: Technological Institute F213
Email: rasio@northwestern.edu

Director of the Master's Program and Master's Admissions
Professor Melville Ulmer
Phone number: 847-491-5633
Office: Dearborn 3B
Email: m-ulmer2@northwestern.edu

Director of Applied Physics Ph.D. Program
Professor James Sauls
Phone number: 847-491-8624
Office: Technological Institute F331
Email: sauls@northwestern.edu

Director of Graduate Studies, Applied Physics
Professor Jens Koch
Phone number: 847-467-2583
Office: Technological Institute F332
Email: jens-koch@northwestern.edu

Back to top