Skip to main content

Graduate

Graduate Study

The Department of Physics and Astronomy offers three advanced degrees:

Chair of Physics Ph.D. Admissions
Professor Venkat Chandrasekhar
Phone number: 847-491-3444
Office: Technological Institute F125
Email: v-chandrasekhar@northwestern.edu

Chair of Astronomy Ph.D. Admissions
Professor Raffaella Margutti
Office: Technological Institute F267
Email: raffaella.margutti@northwestern.edu

Director of Physics Ph.D. Studies
Professor Brian Odom
Phone number: 847-467-5452
Office: Technological Institute F411
Email: b-odom@northwestern.edu

Director of Astronomy Ph.D. Studies
Professor Yoram Lithwick
Office: Technological Institute F263
Email: y-lithwick@northwestern.edu

Director of the Master's Program and Master's Admissions
Professor Andrew Geraci
Office: Technological Institute F135
Email: andrew.geraci@northwestern.edu

Director of Applied Physics Ph.D. Program
Professor James Sauls
Phone number: 847-491-8624
Office: Technological Institute F331
Email: sauls@northwestern.edu

Director of Graduate Studies, Applied Physics
Professor Jens Koch
Phone number: 847-467-2583
Office: Technological Institute F332
Email: jens-koch@northwestern.edu

Back to top